Orpingon 1st Orpingon 1st
Promote your events and press releases in Orpington for FREE! Forgotten Password? | Register | Login

KNITTING CLUB - WILL RESUME DEPENDING ON CHANGES IN GOVERNMENT'S UPDATES FOR COVID-19.

Added by: Lin_25095

KNITTING CLUB  - WILL RESUME DEPENDING ON CHANGES IN GOVERNMENT'S UPDATES FOR COVID-19.

Attendance of some of our knitters at our "Drop in" knitting club.

Zoom In

Last Updated:
Tue, 2 February 2021

Add Comment Contact Event Organiser

From 13:00pm to 14:30pm

Every Wednesday Until: 27th Oct 2021

View other dates (34)

- Wed 3rd March
- Wed 10th March
- Wed 17th March
- Wed 24th March
- Wed 31st March
- Wed 7th April
- Wed 14th April
- Wed 21st April
- Wed 28th April
- Wed 5th May
- Wed 12th May
- Wed 19th May
- Wed 26th May
- Wed 2nd June
- Wed 9th June
- Wed 16th June
- Wed 23rd June
- Wed 30th June
- Wed 7th July
- Wed 14th July
- Wed 21st July
- Wed 28th July
- Wed 4th August
- Wed 11th August
- Wed 18th August
- Wed 25th August
- Wed 1st September
- Wed 8th September
- Wed 15th September
- Wed 22nd September
- Wed 29th September
- Wed 6th October
- Wed 13th October
- Wed 20th October

Crofton Baptist Church
  • From 13:00pm to 14:30pm
  • 100 Crofton Lane, Orpington, BR5 1HD (0.9 miles from town centre)
  • Email Us
  • Free Entry

Knitting for the Intensive Care Baby Unit at the The Princes Royal University Hospital (The PRU), Orpington. Anyone welcome - you donít have to be an experienced knitter. No need 2-aPly just come and make friends! HOWEVER, BECAUSE OF THE PANDEMIC ALL KNITTERS ARE KNITTING FROM HOME FOR THE TIME BEING.

We are knitters who natter so come and spin a yarn while you knit a yarn for a worthy cause. We wonít let reality get in the way of a good yarn!

The Princes Royal University Hospital (The PRU) confirmed that they need two items specifically† - they use a lot of blankets and mittens.

The blankets will need to be approximately 50cm x 50cm (20Ē x 20Ē), this means they are big enough for all their different sizes of babies. Also, they have a lot of babies who have a cannula in for them to receive their antibiotics Ė the mittens are perfect for covering the cannula so that the babies donít pull them out or scratch themselves with them. To this end we will need to make the mittens longer than normal, say 15cm (6Ē), then it means they cover the cannula and donít fall off.†

The Drop-In Knitting Club runs mostly on Wednesdays from 1300hrs subject to holidays. For further information please contact Lin Harewood on 01689 877010 - please leave a message - or by e-mail cbcoffice@virginmedia.com.†

A RISK ASSESSMENT HAS BEEN UNDERTAKEN - KNITTING CLUB WILL RESUME SUBJECT TO CHANGES IN GOVERNMENT'S REGULATIONS FOR COVID-19. PLEASE CONTACT LIN HAREWOOD FOR FURTHER INFORMATION.

Tags: Charity

« Back to Events

Map for KNITTING CLUB - WILL RESUME DEPENDING ON CHANGES IN GOVERNMENT'S UPDATES FOR COVID-19.

Comments (8)

Rate 0

Joyce Bradbury - 8 Sep, 2020 - 04:55AM

Hello
Iíve come across your page and seen that the knitting club is closed at the moment. I wondered if knitted items are being accepted by the hospital still - done a lot of knitting during lockdown? I live in Orpington.

Many thanks
Joyce

Report Reply
Rate 0

Hazel - 10 Mar, 2020 - 09:29AM

Hi when is this knitting on as interested in coming

Report Reply
Rate 0

Lin Harewood - 31 Mar, 2019 - 23:03PM

Hi Karen
Yes the Knitting Club is still running. There are no restrictions I can think of. What restrictions were you thinking of?
Sorry for delay in responding due to holiday.

Report Reply
Rate 0

Lin Harewood - 22 Feb, 2019 - 21:20PM

Hi Jackie

Only daytime at the moment - Wednesdays from 1300 hr during term time. Re-opens 20th March.

Lin

Report Reply
Rate 0

Lin Harewood - 22 Feb, 2019 - 20:56PM

My response on 13th Feb. should read: Due to holiday commitments closed 20th Feb re-open 20th March.

Report Reply
Rate 0

Jackie - 22 Feb, 2019 - 11:41AM

Hi

Is it a daytime event only ?
thanks

Jackie

Report Reply
Rate 0

Lin Harewood - 13 Feb, 2019 - 21:18PM

Yes still taking place - mostly during Term time
Due to holiday commitments closed 20th April re-open 20th March.

Report Reply
Rate 0

karen - 13 Feb, 2019 - 20:22PM

Good evening I am enquiring if this knitting group is still taking place on a Wednesday. Also is there any restrictions

Report Reply

Add Comment +

Similar Events in Orpington